Skip to content

Got creativity?

February 22, 2010

The thing is, when you live in a teeny tiny little country like the the one I’m living in, your options are quite limited. Even more so when you’re interested in something that is not IT or business related (although this does not imply that they excel in either of those two departments).

I remember my teenage days (man, how I miss those days!) when I worked my butt off to produce some decent paintings and drawings so I could bring them in and show them to the ONLY art high school in town (which is the capital city Prague, mind you) in hopes to get a place there in the upcoming year. Well, silly me, I dropped my portfolio in the car and went to take the entrance exam empty handed. Needless to say, I failed that exam. Cried my eyes out the day I got the results – I think on some level I hoped they’d not notice the missing portfolio and would give me extra points for the paintings done ‘on-set’, haha! I tried to go back to art and fashion designing after graduating from high school but, well, long story short, I never got to study art and ended up studying business instead. Looking back I’m actually glad I ended up studying business ‘cuz I think it’s quite essential that one knows how things work in the business world and let’s face it, business is what drives the economy, so to speak.

Anyways, what I want to say is, the Czech art scene seems quite poor to me. And I’m not saying that because there’s an awful shortage of art schools or because I don’t find the “supply” satisfying enough. I’m saying that because it’s a fact. Take antiques markets for example. I don’t know why but I just adore those places. (if you’re raising your eyebrow and thinking – people selling junks they don’t want and people buying junks they don’t need – then get the hell out of my blog, now!). I remember spending almost a day at Portobello when I was in London and I can’t help wishing I could find something like that in Prague. There are actually few newly established markets in Prague that attempt to become a Czech Portobello (or whatever they’re trying to become) but they’re not even remotely close to what is called an antiques market – or at least my idea of an antique market does not involve people selling gazillion-hand clothes/tires/and loads of other junks that are spread across the ground (most of which look like they would serve as a harvest ground for germs). No art whatsoever.

(The Czechs keep criticizing those Vietnamese markets here, how they’re awful and full of cheap & low quality clothes and then they go and buy stuff at those flea markets – which sell the same junks btw, if not worse – of theirs and are in awe. I mean, when are they going to stop seeing them as threats and start appreciate the character it gives Prague? I can’t remember how many times I’ve been asked by friends – foreigners – for a direction to a Chinese market. When I go else where I see directions to China Town/s from the city’s info guide and they’re presented as something that gives an uniqueness to the city and attracts visitors. Here I see people trying to pretend those places don’t exist as if they’re a shameful element of the city. I mean, wake up and travel, won’t you?!).

And it’s not just abou the junk markets, it’s almost everything. Lack of interesting shops with interesting clothes (and if there’s any, they take “pride” in being exceptionally pricey), no fashion sense (normal ppl and celebrities alike), boring streets with ppl dressed in either black or brown or grey or other colors that they think will make them blend into the crowd – this is also the reason why it is so freaking hard to find a stylist for my photoshoots. It just gives me the creeps just to think about dressing my models in those clothes people here wear on the streets. I mean, there are of course some stylists who work for magazines and Tv, but seeing what those ppl wear on Tv and in Czech-made editorials, I get really really sad and desperate. I don’t know if it’s due to lack of clothes to choose from or lack of their own creativity. Probably both.

Although, I’ve found some “fresh blood” on lookbook who seem to be quite awesome in the fashion department and styling, we’ll see if I can get them to cooperate with me. šŸ˜€

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 10:00 am

    I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

